You are here
These Countries Follow the ‘Six Month Rule’ for Passports News 

These Countries Follow the ‘Six Month Rule’ for Passports

If you have any international travel planned, you’re going to want to check the expiration date on your passport right away. Of course, you know better than to try and cross borders with an expired passport, but many countries require a six month buffer on your passport’s expiration date.

We’ve told you about this rule before. Because of visa time limits, many countries require your passport to be valid for three to six months beyond your departure date. In a nutshell, this means if you travel to those countries and your passport expires in a month, it might not be valid and you may not be able to board a flight.


Some countries take it even further and require six months of buffer time. Your best bet is to renew your passport at least nine months before it expires, however, it’s useful to know which countries enforce the rule. U.S. Today explains that the six month rule is pretty common in Asia, for example. U.S. Passport Help Guide lists 50+ countries that require six-month validity when traveling from the U.S. Here are a few of the most popular for tourists:

  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Belize
  • Bolivia
  • Brazil
  • Burma (Myanmar)
  • China
  • Costa Rica
  • Cote d’Ivoire (Ivory Coast)
  • Czech Republic
  • Ecuador (including Galápagos Islands)
  • Ethiopia
  • France
  • French Polynesia
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Guatemala
  • Guyana
  • Honduras
  • Iceland
  • India
  • Israel
  • Italy
  • Jamaica
  • Kenya
  • Madagascar
  • Mexico
  • Malaysia
  • Mauritius
  • Mozambique
  • Namibia
  • Netherlands
  • Nicaragua
  • Panama
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Philippines
  • Russia
  • Singapore
  • Spain
  • St. Lucia
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Taiwan
  • Tanzania
  • Thailand
  • Timor-Leste (East Timor)
  • Trinidad & Tobago
  • United Arab Emirates
  • Venezuela
  • Vietnam…………Read More>>


Source:- lifehacker


Related posts

Contact us | Privacy Policy